My neighbor keeps mowing his grass at 8 pm

Hey everyone!

Oh, the title of this post is for real. My neighbor’s from Nigeria, and he always seems to cut his grass at obscenely late hours (sometimes when the sun has already set), and it really annoys the hell out of everyone in the neighborhood. He even ran over one of the sprinklers in my family’s irrigation system, so water just started shooting straight into the air. Someone tell this guy to do his yardwork either on the weekend or during the day if he’s at home.

I thought it would be a good idea to get up at 5:00 in the morning so that I could get on the recumbent bike and exercise a little bit to wake me up/burn off some of the stuff I ate yesterday. So I set my alarm with the intent of getting up at 5 to do just that. However, there were a few problems:

  1. I didn’t get to bed until 1:30 in the morning
  2. I sleepwalked to the alarm, turned it off, and crawled back into bed

Now, sleepwalking for me only happens when the alarm goes off. It never fails that I would somehow manage to get to the alarm and turn it off without even knowing that I did it. But I would finally awaken at 6:40 (10 minutes before I have to leave) by the sound of my dad pounding on the door. Of course, I always check the clock to see if I actually managed to switch it off, and indeed I did turn the thing off. I really don’t know how I manage to do this. Sleepwalking/Oversleeping has been one of the worst habits for me. In college, I had so many creative ways to try and fight the habit (I even taped my alarm to my ceiling at one point), but it’s still been a problem. It’s ironic that I would sleep through my alarm most weekdays, but then the weekend comes, and I shoot up out of my bed at 7:30 thinking “CRAP, I’M LATE!”, only to realize it’s Saturday, and I don’t have work. I’m not sure if my nervous system can take this!

Passing thought: I still get nervous around people I like. Grawr.

I’ve fallen in love with NHK World. For those of you who don’t know, NHK World is the Japanese equivalent to BBC or PBS here in America. But there’s just so much cool stuff on there that you don’t get to see here, especially since Japan’s eons ahead of us in terms of technology. Just the other day, I saw some craftsman that was able to create wind-up dolls that were able to do the craziest things, like shoot arrows right at a bullseye or even write perfect Japanese characters. None of the things were motorized at all, which just made it even more unbelievable. When their non-electronic stuff is further ahead than some of our gadgets, you know we messed up somewhere. But NHK is pretty awesome. Not to mention it’s also mildly entertaining hearing all the accents ^_^ And it’s cool that the sports report is mostly about sumo wrestling!

It’s also worth noting that news is much more objective when it comes from a foreign country’s perspective. People here in America love to sensationalize the news to make everything sound like a travesty, whereas you get it straight on BBC or NHK. On top of that, you get to hear about all of the much more important events in the world that you might not hear about in America. For instance, there were three earthquakes off the coast of the Philippines, and there was a Tropical Storm that hit the bottom side of China, but you don’t hear about that here. You just hear about Lindsay Lohan going to jail. Some things are definitely more important in the world other than Lindsay Lohan!

I just got off the phone with my sister, who’s pretty much exhausted, but if she goes to sleep right now, she’ll wake up at the ungodliest hour of the nighttime, so I suggested that she eats a little bit of protein. Protein, as some of you know, contains an amino acid called tyramine, which causes the release of norepinephrine to the brain, which keeps us awake. Of course, with my fantastic imagination, I suggested throwing ham and cheese into a blender to make a smoothie. Of course, I was kidding, but then it never fails that even a joke can become something that’s YouTube material:

Apologies in advance! And on that note, I’m off to do the Song of the Week =]

– Danny

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

