Getting back

What’s going on, everyone? So yesterday was a little more of the same in a bunch of aspects. A little work to do, a little pool after work, and then just vegging out by the time I got home. Then, as expected, I finally got to talk to my friend Steff for the first time in what feels like ages! Even though we’ve been e-mailing each other back and forth, it’s always a lot nicer getting to hear the voices of my friends. So we talked for a while, mainly about her last semester at UMBC and how fast things seem to go. I’ll have to admit, the last semester at college is definitely the most chaotic, because you’re trying to finish off the degrees, certificates, minors….I mean, even the Phys Ed credits seem like a hassle at that point. Alongside of that, you’re trying to arrange a resume, get job interviews, plan out the future, and it all happens in the course of just four months, so it really gives you a feeling like you’re just floating through the last semester. It’s like you’re working hard, and feeling the pressure, but at the same time, you’re in this haze the whole time. I mean, there are also a million things running through your mind, like when’s the next time you’ll get to spend time with all the people you’ve grown to love throughout college. It’s just a hard time, and that’s why there weren’t a lot of dry eyes at commencement. College really is the best time of a person’s life. Notice that I didn’t say the best four years of someone’s life, because a four-year tenure isn’t truly possible anymore. There’s so much more to learn in the world today that it’s not possible to graduate in four years and have the adequate knowledge base to work in today’s job market.

But now, I get to see Steff this weekend, just to catch up and help her out with this graphic design project that she’s working on. It should be really fun, and I’m definitely excited! I mean, it’ll be the first time I get to see her in nearly a year (barring any interactions from Skype), so I’m looking forward to helping her out just like in the old days. =]

That also gave me the incentive to continue working on her birthday present, but a part of the way into it, I got really upset for what seemed to be no reason at all. I don’t know what it is that came over me, but I ended up falling asleep as I worked on it. When I woke up, it’s was already past midnight, and now my sleep pattern was all messed up, so I started running around, doing stuff. Took a shower, checked facebook (where I saw a bunch of posts from my friend Lisa which I’m going to talk about in a little bit), and played some poker. Now, as for the poker…nearly nothing went right last night. I went into two tournaments, the first holding two jacks in the first hand, and the second holding AQ in the first hand. Of course, if you ever play online tournaments, it’s a terrible idea to play the first hand since everyone moves all-in with anything, hoping to hit a home run, and the rigged system tilts the odds in favor of the worst hand most of the time. So I lost about 750 in chips doing that, which I guess isn’t so bad since I was up 1,800 from finishing high in the last tournament. After that frustrating moment, I decided to try PokerStars. To be honest, I wasn’t really that into it when I started playing it. It just didn’t seem as engaging as Full Tilt. I ended up just playing Razz the whole time I was on PokerStars. They could do things a lot better, I think.

Right now, I’m listening to “Sweepstakes” from the new Gorillaz album. I still can’t get over the fact that Mos Def recorded his MC part of this song in one take. Plastic Beach is an awesome album, but for those of you who were really into demon days, this is a far cry from the last album. Damon’s really tried to explore new sounds in the newest album, even getting the Lebanese National Orchestra for Oriental Arabic Music on a track with grime rappers Kano and Bashy. You’ll hate it in the beginning. I mean it. But at you listen to it, it grows on you, and then you’ll begin to appreciate what the artists were going for in this album and love it. If there’s one thing I hate, it’s when an artist comes out with a new album, and it sounds just like the old one. I love it when musicians challenge the way they look at music in pursuit of developing new sounds. Linkin Park is probably the best example of a band from this era that’s completely overhauled their style. They knew their sounds were getting repetitive, and with Meteora, you knew that changes were coming, and it was exciting. The Beatles are my favorite example, when they made Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. Everything they did with that album was completely different from what they’ve done in the past, and that’s why it’s one of the best albums of all time, and a personal favorite of mine. It’s also why my sister’s cat is named Sarge!

Yesterday, I recommended that a co-worker of mine who’s into bodybuilding to try out the Odwalla Protein Monster. Seriously, for anyone that’s into getting into working out and building muscle, that thing is literally like celestial. Yes, I said celestial. Of all the vocabulary I learned in college, that was the best I could come up with! But there’s around 33g of protein per bottle (despite the nutrition facts saying it’s two servings of 18g). Do the math, that’s some serious healing power!

I was talking to my friend Kelly last night who told me that she got a Kindle recently, and that she’s loving it. I had only heard about this thing in passing, but I thought it was interesting that you could preview e-books on a machine prior to buying it and reading it on the device. Something like that could actually get me back into reading. Honestly, I’ve drifted away from the reading scene a long time ago, but I’ve been trying to find something that could captivate me to read it all the way through. Most of the books I’ve read in recently memory were instructional. Maybe I should read up on my politics since I don’t have a clue about any of it! But if anyone else here has a Kindle, let me know about it. I’ve been curious =]

I’ve also been thinking about getting a digital guitar effects processor. It seems like such a better alternative than getting an amp that doesn’t even have all the things you want in it. They don’t cost a whole lot either, so I figured I might look into it. Playing my electric guitar unplugged gets too boring after a while.

Alright, so back to what I was going to talk about earlier. I received a message last night from my good friend Lisa, and she was saying that in recent months, it seems like we’ve become complete strangers to each other. To those who didn’t know, Lisa and I spent a lot of time together the last semester I was there at UMBC. I would go to visit her almost every day, it seemed. She was a freshman, and just getting accustomed to the college life, and I was already one foot out the door. When I read her message, I knew that she was absolutely right, and I felt bad that I hadn’t been in contact for so long. It went from practically inseparable to really choppy, sporadic contact, and it made me feel guilty as well. Ever since I got into the working world, I’ve been almost a recluse since I work a lot of the time. And many of my best friends have seen that there are times where I just reach a boiling point and need to see my friends, too. There was a point while I was working that I wasn’t really doing anything I wanted to do: I hadn’t played a round of golf over a year, I hadn’t played pool for several months, I was working a few Saturdays out of the month, one of my friends wasn’t talking to me, and I was just miserable.

So now, especially since it’s getting warmer and the day are longer, I’m making it a new goal for this year to reconnect with everyone. I feel like I’ve been disconnected for several years now, and that I’ve been so focused on establishing myself in the working world that I almost forgot that I still need to have some fun every now and then. It’s no fun being a workaholic! I was never really as social in college, either, which I think was probably the biggest mistake I made in college. The game room was basically the focal point of my social life, and that was about it. So I’ll work on it, and expect to hear a lot from me in the coming weeks =]

Alrighty, time to get some stuff done. See ya!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

